Online Trailer Registrations

As Low as $20 Per Year

Number of Trailers

Number of Years

Total Cost:


Get Started

Can I register my trailer in Maine?

National Trailer Registration is an authorized statutory agent for the State of Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles that provides out-of-state residents with Maine trailer registrations. It is, however, the responsibility of the out-of-state registrant to be fully aware of trailer registration laws specific to their own state.

When will my Maine trailer registration expire?

All Maine trailer registrations expire on the last day of February of the expiring year.

For example, a 1 year registration that was ordered anytime in the year of 2014 will expire on February 28, 2015.

Do I need to get a Maine title in order to register my trailer in Maine?

The only case in which you would need to get a Maine title in order to register your trailer in Maine would be if your trailer has a net weight of 3001lbs and more, is a model year 1995 and newer, and you do not currently have a title in your name from any other state.

Do I need to pay sales tax in order to get my trailer registered in Maine?

You are not required to pay sales tax at the time of registration if:

  • Your trailer is used for interstate commerce 80% of the time
  • You have previously paid sales tax at the time of purchase – proof is required
  • You have previously registered this trailer – proof is required

Otherwise, sales tax will be required at the time of registration at the rate of 5.5% of the purchase price.

Why do I need to provide you with a Power of Attorney form?

National Trailer Registration is a statutory agent of the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The Limited Vehicle Power of Attorney form allows us to act as your agent and sign on behalf of you or your company in regards to titling and registration purposes only.

If my trailer has sleeping quarters, can I still register it through you?

No, we do not register trailers with sleeping quarters.